How to obtain a US Visa : Tips for your visa interview

What’s up folks!!!!!

I trust you’ve all been happy lately …

People esp. Travellers have a lot of dreams … Like to visit their dream/favourite place or desired destination … So on..

One of the dreams I dreamt was to visit America … Not because of any greatness …. As a historian, I was just fascinated by the American history esp. Civil war and Abraham Lincoln …. New York City, San Francisco etc….

As a child I was so obsessed with multi-culturism, people, languages and food…. But States always had a special place in my heart …… The zenith of this obsession was such … That whenever I would hear someone talk about America or even mention it ..I would give my ear to it… Which really started annoying people… Words likes Washington, parkington would give me goosebumps… I even went to am extend and memorised each different states in the US and their capitals .. Name of the previous presidents .. Which shocked even some of my American friends … One major person who really influenced me to see that place was Mr. Robert nimmo, he was kinda mentor to me and used to teach me about American culture… He served in the US navy and had practically lived in every city in the US…. Cities like Casper, Helena, Bismarck, stove pipe well Death Valley etc… A gold rush prospectus he was…

But it’s not always easy for non American folks to visit America… I know 9/11 changed everything there….

Last year I finally decided to visit America … And I went in for a visa interview … Most people out here mind wonder its just a visa ..why make a deal out of it… Well, like I said… It’s really considered as an achievement in the third world country….

However, I was refused saying that I didn’t demonstrate enough ties to my home country ….I was in grave pain… I couldn’t even hear my own thoughts for a week… I thought I didn’t do anything wrong still I was rejected …. But then I decided I’ll do research and prove them that, I’m not going to live in America but I’m just going to visit the place and appreciate the beauty of the culture….

And finally I made it this year … My visa was approved …

So I would just like to share a few thoughts on your visa interview … Again, each case is different and you can never guarantee … But hard work pays… And a little information can make huge differences …

1) When you intend to apply for the tourist visa for the US, do not hire anyone to do that for you… People can fake a lot of things… I’m sorry but our today’s world is like this…

2) Prepare all the documents in advance and keep it with you handy while you fill in your DS-160 … For with you can log onto www.ceac.state.gov

Fill your DS 160 and make sure you email or print for yourself a copy, in order to know what you’ve written, also never lie about anything in your application, because lying is not good and secondly the consular officer will come to know as they are well trained and they know about you more than you know… Mebbe it’s a cliché but that’s what it is…

3) Print the Stanley form to pay your visa application fees… You can choose your bank to pay on US travel Docs website… Where you’ll have to create an account ….

4) after paying your visa fees, you will receive a detail showing payment update in your US travel docs account, click on the payment token and schedule your appointment … There will be 2 appointments based on your country of origin, as for India, they’ve to go for the OFC which a biometrics, fingerprint, photo and other such information appointment. I suggest to book your OFC appointment a day prior to your visa interview… Makes the job easy ….

5) Arrive at the embassy or consulate on the interview day no less than 15 mins… Dress well, always wear a smile, do not over smile, don’t give any signs of nervousness … Even if you are… I know it’s hard … But think its your dream to see the place..

6) The consular officers usually do not look at your documents … They rely on verbal conversations … When you present facts and figures they start analysing your response and give a conclusion, whether or not to grant you a visa… Show as much ties to your home country as possible, do not be hard in trying to convince the officer, do not volunteer information, which is it asked. If the officer needs additional details he/she will ask you. See, they are gentle people, however their work is very tough.. They are protecting the american borders .. They meet 1000s of dumbs everyday, who do not stick to the answer or the question per se…

7) Once your visa is approve, your passports will be kept for visa stamping, if you were rejected under 214(b), then they’ll return your passport … Remember it’s not the end of the world … You can apply very soon, once your circumstances have changed..

If you have any query or you wanna give a mock interview and want to find out whether you are eligible for a visa or you wanna know more, please write to me : alanphoenix18@hotmail.com

I would to hear from you … Good luck and all the best…

Love
Alan

20150817-005318.jpg

Leave a Reply

